Old School Video Game Art Show: Level 2

by jAsian

Happy Friday, guys and girls!

I wanted to show you guys my piece for the video game art show that Gallery 1988 has so kindly invited me to be a part of.  I know the theme is “Old School” but I they were able to work with me with my idea!  I chose The Legend of Zelda: Ocarina of Time because I have to say, It’s my most favoritest of all video games ever!  Angry birds ain’t got shit on this beast.

I’m not sure how everyone else played this game, but I know for a fact that I spent just as much time fishing in the game as playing the story.  Riding Epona through Hyrule  and shooting poes with arrows at night was a close second.

This piece has a few different themes for me.  Look at it any way you please, but here’s my reasoning.  Ganon has been up to his shenanigans again and Link needs a break from being awesome.  What better way to relive the stresses of life than by fishing?!  As Hyrule is under siege, I loved taking time out and fishing at the pond with a gorgeous view of Death Mountain with my good pal Navi!

I remember when I finally caught the elusive Hylian Loach. I was so stoked!  If instagram existed back then, I would posted a pic of it with a #FTW hashtag.  Anyways, if I caught a Hylian Loach, I’d like a picture taken of me with it, wouldn’t you?  Link did, and this was the picture that was snapped by the guy with the sailor hat.

I still pay homage to the original Legend of Zelda game though.  This is printed on GOLD paper and will have an edition of 86.  For those who don’t know the reasoning behind these choices, you need to be edumacated!  Well, the game came out in 1986 for the NES and came in a gold cartridge. It’s actually a pretty simple explanation.

I tried to take pictures where you can see the gold reflecting through the ink, but these pictures don’t do it justice.  You might just have to buy a print 😉

Anyways, this was a lot longer than I had anticipated.  The show opens Friday, October 26th at Gallery 1988: Venice from 7-10.  Myself and some of the other artists will be there hanging out, so make sure you come by and say hi.  See you there!

-Jason

“Gosh! That’s a strange fish!”
12″ x 18″
1 color screen print on metallic gold leaf paper
s/n limited edition of 86